GTRI's Lidar Team Wins Optical Society Award

Published: August 14, 2012

Click for article gallery (2 images).

The Optical Society (OSA) selected the Lidar team from the Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI) as its 2012 recipient of the Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award, in recognition of its quarter-century of continuing advances in atmospheric lidar technology. Led by Principal Research Scientist Gary Gimmestad, team members will each receive a plaque plus a crystal award, and the team as a whole will receive a $3,000 honorarium.

Team members include Gimmestad, David Roberts, John Stewart, Leanne West and Jack Wood. The lidar team is located within GTRI's Electro-Optical Systems Laboratory (EOSL).

The award will be presented at the Frontiers in Optics 2012, OSA's 96th annual meeting, in Rochester, N.Y., on Oct. 15, 2012.